Getting in Front of the Lens

As a photographer, I think it is good practice to put myself in my client’s shoes.  When doing a recent tea party shoot , I got dressed up and asked my friend to snap a few photos of me.  As soon as the camera was pointed at me, I had no idea what to do with myself and I was overcome with anxiety.  I had to ask, “What should I be doing with my face?” “Do I look okay?” “How should I pose?”  Getting photographed can be hard.  I had to rely on and trust my photographer, which can seem scary.

What’s even scarier is editing photos of myself.  It’s true what they say; “you are your worst critic.”  Looking through the photos, I hated every image of myself.  I then had to stop and go through my pictures again, trying to pretend that I was looking at a stranger and see my positives. I only hope that when receiving their images, my clients see what I see and are not too hard on themselves.

In the end, I think I came out with some good shots.  I now remember how scary it can be to be a photography client and hope to keep these thoughts in mind and put my clients at ease during my upcoming sessions.me (1 of 6)

me (6 of 6) me (4 of 6)

Leave a Reply

