New Baby, New Experiences

As some of you may know, we have a new addition to the family.  My son, Arlo, was born this July.  He is now 4 and 1/2 weeks old and I am just now editing his newborn photos.  Again, I found myself in my client’s shoes, experiencing a lifestyle session not only as a photographer but also as a new mom.

wa-12

wa-6

I now truly understand that being a new mom is exhausting!!  Recovering from a major surgery while caring for a baby really zaps one’s energy and is amazingly time consuming.  Every morning I would say, “I want to take Arlo’s newborn photos today” and for many of those days this did not make it into the schedule.  Finally, when Arlo was 10 days old, I took out my cameras and started posing him around the nursery.

wa-5

Being a photographer, who has done a few newborn sessions, I figured this shoot would be no problem and I could take it on myself.  Well, even with my husband’s help, I found myself struggling to get all the precious shots that I had been thinking about all week.  As I said, being a new mom is tiring, and after a couple hours of shooting, I found myself wishing I had hired another professional to come in so I could focus on hanging out with my baby.

wawa

After finally finding some time to edit these photos (while bouncing a baby on my lap), I cannot believe how much this little guy has changed and only in a few short weeks.  While scheduling a newborn session may have seemed like a daunting task, I can say that I am so happy to have these photos to look back on and cannot wait to share them with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

